New (2017) PNZ rules interpretations now available

Petanque New Zealand has released its new rules interpretations, for the 2016 revision of the FIPJP rules. The interpretations are formatted as comments (in red) interpolated into the text of the rules. The new document is available at the PNZ web site, HERE.


Advertisements

8 thoughts on “New (2017) PNZ rules interpretations now available

  1. Team A is up thinking Team B is out of boules, throws their last 3 boules, then team B speaks up and show they have one boule left. What is the call?

  2. Team B knew they had a boule but did not speak up, and they let team A throw 3 boules out of turn. Seems like team A should not be penalized when team B knew.

    • Real-world situations can be complex… there can be multiple relevant consideration in deciding how to handle any particular situation. In your particular case, I would say that it is the responsibility of BOTH teams to agree on (a) which team has the point, and (b) whether or not one of the teams has no more unplayed boules. Together, these two considerations determine which team should play the next boule.

      So relevant questions in your particular case are:
      – Which team had the point?
      – Did the teams agree on which team had the point?
      – Did both teams know that team B had one unplayed boule?

      • Team B had the point. Team A then won the point, but team A thought team B was out of boules and threw 2 more boules for 3 points. That’s when team B said they had one boule left. They said team A’s 3 boules were dead. But team B let team A throw without speaking up. Is there no sportsmanship involved?

        • Sportsmanship, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder, so questions about sportsmanship are hardly ever worth debating. As for this particular case, it looks like team A might have played its last two boules in the mistaken belief that team B was out of boules, while team B might have let them do it in the mistaken belief that they (team B) had the point. If that’s what happened, there is no question of poor sportsmanship, only honest (and sloppy) mistakes. Both teams are at fault for lazy play: for not making the effort properly to determine which team had the point. Team A is at fault for not asking team B if they had any unplayed boules. In an umpired game, an umpire would probably give each team a warning (yellow card), leave everything where it is, and let team B play its unplayed boule. See https://petanquerules.wordpress.com/2016/03/05/a-boule-thrown-out-of-turn/

        • What happened was the last 3 boules we played were considered dead, then they played their last boule. They knew we were unhappy. Thanks for your input.

Post a comment, or send us a message

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s