Article 35 of the 2016 revision of the FIPJP rules contains a new rule for “collective” penalties for exceeding the time limit for throwing the jack.
A warning for exceeding the time limit is imposed on all the players of the offending team. If one of these players has already been given a warning, he will be penalized by disqualification of a boule during the mene in progress or for the following mene if he has no more boules to play.
At the end of January 2017 The CNA (Commission Nationale d’Arbitrage, the French National Umpires Committee) issued a memo attempting to clarify the rule.
Our archived copy of the memo can be found HERE.
My English translation can be found HERE (docx) or HERE (pdf).
As of June 2022, the CNA position is still that there is a collective yellow card only for the first infraction of the 1-minute rule. See Annexe 32bis HERE.
28 and 29 January 2017 in Marseille
Different cases concerning exceeding the time (during the course of a single game) Assume a triples game with a team composed of players A, B and C.
No player has a yellow card.
Player A exceeds the allowed time.
► There is a collective yellow card (one for Player A, one for player B and one for player C).
After [the team has received] a collective yellow card,
► For the player who breaks the rules (whatever the infraction) the next boule played or about to be played is disqualified, and the disqualification is indicated by an orange card.
After a collective yellow card,
player B exceeds the time, so this is a second collective infraction.
► In this specific case, the offending player (B) has a boule disqualified and receives an orange card. But his partners do not receive an orange card and they do not have any boules disqualified because there is no such thing as a collective orange card.
Only player C has received a yellow card for an infraction other than exceeding the time (e.g. encroaching on the circle, sweeping, etc.)
and player B exceeds the time.
► A and B receive a yellow card and
C has a boule disqualified, but he does not receive an orange card (he is not the one who committed this new infraction). (Note that an orange card can be given only to the direct author of an infraction.)
Player A and player B have each received an individual yellow card for an infraction other than exceeding the time.
and player C exceeds the time.
► Players A and B each have a boule disqualified, but they do not receive an orange card.
(Note that an orange card can be given only to the direct author of an infraction.)
Player C receives a yellow card.
Players A, B and C have each received a yellow card for individual infractions,
and the time-limit is exceeded.
► Three boules are disqualified (one per player) and the player who exceeded the time-limit receives an orange card.
– Always make sure you know who made the infraction.
– Know which players of the team have already been penalized during the game.
– Distinguish between a collective infraction (time exceeded) and an individual infraction.
– Remember that there is no collective orange card.
Hello, I hope you are well, thank you for your helpful tips.
If a player has time to foul and commits a second foul and receives an orange card, must the ball he bowled be dropped or the ball dropped in the next set?
This counts as a frequently-asked “umpire question” — when an umpire disqualifies a boule, how does he decide whether to disqualify a boule that has already been played, or a boule to be played in the future?
See our post on Disqualifying a boule & excluding a player.